About me: Sports writer James Gordon

James Gordon
2 min readApr 17, 2023

Hey there!

My name is James Gordon and I’m an independent writer with a robust background in sports journalism.

I served as a sports writer, columnist, and eventually the sports editor of the Ottawa Citizen newspaper in Canada’s capital.

I was also the founding writer/editor of The Athletic Ottawa.

You may also know me from my popular hockey Twitter account at twitter.com/james_j_gordon

Me! (author’s photo)

After a long hiatus from the sportswriting game, I’ve decided it’s time to jump back in with both feet.

This account will be the home of all my sports writing on Medium, and there will be a lot of that.

I’m really looking forward to getting started!

When I was writing about sports as a full-time job, I was known for no-nonsense takes as an opinion writer and sharp, number-focused analysis that challenged what all the talking heads were saying. I’m all about evidence-based writing.

My aim, always, was to tell the reader something they didn’t already know.

Otherwise, why bother reading?

If you follow my work here, I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Folks, if you’re a big sports fan like me (or just love my writing and want to see more) it would mean the world to me if you’d take a moment to subscribe to my profile here and sign up for email notifications here so you don’t miss a thing.

One last thing: if you have a spare moment, please subscribe to my YouTube channel. There’s nothing there yet, but my medium-term goal is to start posting there as well.

Thanks so much for taking the time to read this post! Let’s talk sports!

--

--

James Gordon

Independent hockey content fellow. Former sports editor at the Ottawa Citizen and ex-founding writer/editor at The Athletic Ottawa. Twitter.com/James_J_Gordon